52 comments on “Back in the Field

  1. I can’t believe you were doing that with the kids! That was my job in 1977 in Afghanistan.
    UNICEF paid me to assess the malnourishment of all the kids that came to the Save the Children Fund Clinic just out of Kabul. I weighed, measured and recorded hundreds of babies for exactly the same reason.
    We used to let the women into the room a few at a time and had to have two strong men on the door to prevent a stampede.
    Sadly, some things never change.
    Life is weird…….

  2. You know, I ran across your blog a few months ago(?) and can’t remember how. I’m actually a fan on Facebook. Now, thanks to Freshly Pressed, I’ve found it once again. It’s just as fascinating now as it was then. Your photos are stunning, and I’m still curious to learn more about your aid work and how one manages to get into the field of service for others and still afford to live.

    Thank you for sharing your experiences with the world. It’s inspiring.

  3. Great post! Enjoyed the narration and beautiful pics! It’s great to hear you don’t feel “above” the purpose and instead found yourself useful by getting involved. Sometimes people don’t want to do any “dirty work” simply as a way to prove they have advanced in career. More people, especially those in corporate America, can learn from you. Congrats on Freshly Pressed! LB

  4. Marvellous story. Since I’ve never known someone doing such philanthropic tasks, I wonder how great your love for fellow beings might be. Nice knowing anyway.

  5. Enjoyable and descriptive blog of your trip. I thoroughly enjoy the read and the spectacular photography. You a blessed to be afforded such a wonderfully nomadic lifestyle.

  6. Interesting, to say the least. Of course, that’s an understatement. Excellent photographs, as other commentators before me have acknowledged. “A long way from my desk in Melbourne”, you mentioned. I too am a long way from Melbourne and do miss it a lot – ‘homesick’ is a word which comes close. Are you with ‘Save the Children Austalia’, by any chance? Would be interesting to know.

  7. This is truly great work, definitely deserving of Freshly Pressed. The writing is excellent, but the story is sublime.

    I did work in Haiti this summer, and spent time at a orphanage. I have no medical training and so at one point I convinced a group of volunteer nurses from a field hospital nearby to come give checkups to the kids. There’s no better way to put it other than “infinitely more satsifying” than the average day. Great work

  8. Beautiful, if not heart wrenching photos. I remember seeing people doing this in Ethiopia when I was there a few years ago. Tough job, but I’m sure very rewarding too. Great post.

  9. Thank you for taking me out of my tiny world and showing me once again how very much more life there is out there! Beautiful, tragic. To be a part of seeking to help our fellow man has got to be such an enriching experience. Glad you were able to get out from behind the desk for a bit as well. Stunning photos.

  10. The thing that strikes me more than anything else in your story is that this is a situation that has not changed in the past five years since you had been there before. In fact, as you say, there are even more women and children there than you remembered from before. That is truly a hard fact to hear. I wonder how this makes you feel for all your effort to know that while you are undoubtedly helping many, the suffering continues.

    I’m glad you have not let the level you have achieved in your work make you feel that these people, who are the main reason you do this kind of work, and your co-workers who are doing the hands-on work are beneath you in any way. And, good for you for feeling “useless” while standing around observing and not actually doing anything to help out physically at that point. Because it meant you were able to experience great joy when you actually were able to help out–even in the least little way. I think that makes you a person who wants to give and help others, for sure.

    Great images that help to tell the story of this part of your life. Thanks for sharing!

  11. Thank you so much for sharing this. It really gives the reader a sense of what it was like and the photos tell a story in themselves. It’s posts like this that inspire more people to follow in your footsteps.

  12. As good at the color photos are, there’s something about the black and whites that are more emotionally compelling. Why is that? Perhaps the colors distract me from the soul of the scene. Beautiful work.

  13. Great pics, great post, and great work! My favorites pics are the landscape at the top, and the portrait of their girl holding the plant at the bottom. Beautiful.

    BTW, did you really type all that on iPad screen?

  14. I’m glad you have not let the level you have achieved in your work make you feel that these people, who are the main reason you do this kind of work, and your co-workers who are doing the hands-on work are beneath you in any way.

  15. Pingback: Narciblogger Sunday: Two Years On « WanderLust

  16. Pingback: In Which an Expat Aid Worker Talks Long Distance Relationships « WanderLust

  17. Pingback: Filming Fun with Cam and Mike | WanderLust

Leave a Reply

