11 comments on “Snowkiting: As Dumb As It Sounds

  1. Snowkiting, “dumb”? I would certainly take issue with that. Maybe our all-consuming passion for it could be considered dumb. After all it isn’t communing with the divine or saving the world, but after a great session in a beautiful snow-clad location, our faces radiate with the joy that might otherwise be reserved for grander activities.

    Kite sports are uniquely challenging and rewarding and snowkiting is the king of them. Although it can certainly dish out a large portion of pain and suffering, snowkiting also offers up some of the most rewarding moments an outdoor sport can offer. Free from the constraints of gravity, harnessing the wind opens up territory once reserved for the throttle twisters and empowers a unique potential of fun in every little terrain feature.

    Getting to do it in the NZ with Chasta. Even those of us in the industry who live and breathe snowkiting lay awake dreaming of that opportunity. Snowkiting dumb? Nah. But your headline worked. It got me to read your good post and enjoy your great photos.

    Welcome to the tribe.

    Thanks,
    Dave Grossman, Publisher
    Drift Snowkite Magazine
    Issue 2 is AVAILABLE NOW for FREE.

    • Thanks for your comment Dave and glad you enjoyed the piece. Your words give away your passion for what is unquestionably an amazing sport, and one I’m glad I’ve found. And yes, the title of the piece was certainly very tongue-in-cheek- reflective perhaps of the fact that it’s on the more insane end of the spectrum in terms of things to do, or perhaps that everybody I explain snowkiting to gives me a very strange look- but what a blast it really is. Can’t wait for next season.

      Have a good one.

  2. Certainly a good choice of headline, it had my eyes snap to it right away.. And am I glad I did!

    Excellent article, and stunning photography – maybe it’ll be featured in the next Drift Snowkite Magazine!

    Just out of curiousity, what kites were you riding? I’d love to give snowkiting a shot and wondered if the Best Kahoona I ride for land and kitesurfing would work?

    • Hi mate,

      Thanks for your comments and for taking the time to browse the article- always appreciated!

      We were flying Ozone kites- the Frenzy and the Access, and the Manta as well (though I didn’t ride on the Manta). Variety of sizes- I think the Access was 4, 6 and 8m, the Frenzy in 7, 8 and 10m maybe, and the Manta for the bigger stuff, up to 12m for the pros. But I may be forgetting the sizes by now as it was a bunch of months ago.

      I’m not familiar enough with kiting or with Best Kahoona to know how transferable your kites would be to the mountains. The Ozones were all foil kites, so if you’re flying inflatables it’s not always possible/easy/safe to transfer. I did see one person up there with an inflatable kite but it seems to be the exception, not the norm. Additionally, due to the high winds and much higher danger of flying on mountain terrain, you generally fly on a smaller kite size than you’d use on the water. Obviously the most important thing (as with any kiting) is the safety angle, so you want to be flying recent kites with idiot-proof brakes and releases- I would never recommend taking up a 2006 model of anything into the hills as it probably wouldn’t be up to scratch in that department. Sorry I can’t be much more help than that. If you did want to find out more, you could always contact somebody at one of the adventure trip operations who run snow-kiting trips and they’d be able to give you much more specific advice.

      Cheers,

      Tris

      • Tris,

        thank you very much for the advice – we’ve had a huge amount of snow in the UK since my original post, and also a bit of wind..

        So we did what any kiter would do in that situation, grabbed our kites, snowboards and drove out to the nearest open space!

        I can report back that the Kahoona was excellent, but my snowkiting was a touch rusty… Still, it looks like we’re going to be stuck in a cold spell for a bit longer, so plenty of time to practice!

        Just out of curiosity, would it be possible to take an excerpt for this article for use on my site – I’m going to do a write up and review of the Kahoona on snow, and reading this was the inspiration for the snowkiting trip.

        All the best with the blog, and your kiting.

        Tom

      • Hi Tom,

        Great news on the snow- I’m quite jealous! We’ve had super-hot temperatures here the last few days and set to keep running for a while. Glad you managed to get your kites up, it’s quite a different feeling to being on water (in some ways) but glad to hear you’ve enjoyed it.

        You’re more than welcome to use an excerpt from this post. Please could you credit (Tris is fine) and link back to the original somewhere on your own post.

        Cheers and happy kiting,

        Tris

  3. Best,
    I got to fly one of the first Best Kahoonas at the Powder Mountain Superfly event last spring and REALLY liked it as a snowkite. It has amazing power for a seemingly small kite (I flew the 11m I think) and I loved the big range of depower. It is perfect for snowkiting!

    I am looking forward to flying the 2010 Waroos. They have traditionally been great snowkites, but the new changes make them look like they might be even better. I have been a Ozone guy for a while, but I think I might be adding some Best kites to my quiver in the future.

    Thanks,
    Dave Grossman, Publisher
    Drift Snowkite Magazine

    • Thanks for the reply Dave, your first paragraph pretty much hits the spot for how I felt about the Kahoona on snow!

      I have used the 2010 Waroo on water, and it is pretty awesome – there’s a review / comparison post on my site which you may find useful?

      I’ve had a quick squint over the Drift site, looks pretty interesting, I’m just compiling a list of useful kiting related sites – think I’ll have to include Drift for the snow side!

      Best wishes with the magazine,

      Tom

  4. Pingback: Alberta Rockies- Monochrome | WanderLust

Leave a Reply

